liveslifewell

Making the most of every minute…

It’s life Jim, but not as we know it…..

Life in Techworld is very strange.  Everything is equally hard but nothing is the same from site to site.  It has been brought home to me today that computer software designers must be even more insular than we stereotypically give them credit for, because otherwise they might actually collaborate and standardise some stuff.

Today, I have spent more time than is appropriate for an air-breather holed up with my computer.  I am attempting to bring cohesion to my online presence.  There is a possibility that I may discover the point of even having an online presence, beyond stressing myself out for no apparent reason, although I am prepared to concede this possibility is some way off yet.

I have achieved several things including managing to upload the same picture to the background of this blog and my Twitter account.  However, in both cases only the upper left corner of said picture is visible which is rather upsetting and also something of a puzzle since the instructions for uploading were different on the two sites.  Apparently, I need to resize the picture, but since neither of the Teens can do this for me this is obviously a genuinely very hard task.  I felt quite proud, because not only did they not look at me in the usual pitying fashion, but they actually looked quite impressed that I a) wanted to do this and b) could show them the picture’s current statistics.  (I didn’t tell them that I had no idea what these statistics meant).  I’ve also linked myself to two blogging sites and added a follow button to the blog (see right) and my Twitter feed (although this has not kept up with today’s Tweets, but I’ll worry about that tomorrow).

My most favourite achievement has been getting my phone to Tweet like a bird when a “mention” happens on Twitter.  If you have never suffered the confusion caused by your phone making a text notification noise for a mysterious something other than an incoming text, you won’t appreciate the enormity of that last one.  Until fairly recently, I barely ever bothered to charge my phone and I couldn’t understand the point of texting at all.  By way of explanation, a friend told me it was great for talking to your friends when you didn’t have time to chat.  At the time, that made no sense at all but now I’m a blogger!  How times change!

Anyway, In the process of navigating the blog sites, I came across a reminder of one of my favourite factoids:  Every day is worth 84,600 seconds!  This means that I have spent at least 36,000 seconds working on my little project today.  Working on the basis that every second is worth £1, you don’t get any refunds once it’s spent and the balance is cleared at the end of the day, I had to ask myself if this was time well spent and overall, can you believe it? Amazingly, the answer is a resounding YES!

An expert could have done this job for me in a matter of minutes, I’m sure, but then I would have missed the interaction with the people on the blogging sites, I would not be enjoying the feeling of FINALLY getting to grips with technology, and I would not now be enjoying a general sense of ownership over my pages.  I know I still have a thousand miles to go, but hey, every journey starts with a single step and I’ve taken several today!

I’m still new to blogging, so if you’ve read and enjoyed this, please feel free to like, share and even leave a comment!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “It’s life Jim, but not as we know it…..

  1. I’ve been blogging 3 years now and am still learning, the BritMums forum is always a good place to ask for help there’s always someone who knows.
    One tip from me – start to categorise your posts, it’ll make searching for them in years to come a hell of a lot easier ;)

Leave a Reply

www.NaturalBornLiar.com

Online Dwelling of J.S. Sanders

Jane Kenyon

Inspiring and empowering

Kate on Thin Ice

Getting my skates on to improve my life

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Knackered Housewife

From "Looking Glum" to "Yummy Mum", this Knackered Housewife asks can we ever Have It All? There's only one way to find out...

Feed the Weird

Fuel for Your Personality

Gin & Cornflakes

Working mum, wife, woman, writer. I'd like just a bit of everything please....

mymummylife

The Boy, The Baby and me

The Dissocial Mom

Delirious.Irritable.Smelly.Sleepy.Overwhelmed.Cranky.In.Absolute.Love

Why is her so stroppy?

A stroppy older mum's reflections on parenting and life - mixed with a shot of feminism

anangelis

Angels and how they help us

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

glennfolkes

All the interesting junk I find on the internet

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

Mumtoteens

Got teenagers? Then you know what I'm blogging on about.

Sara Bran

Notes from the Edge of Motherhood

Slummy single mummy

The secret diary of a single mummy, aged 33 3/4

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

